
Image: METAL
Summary
- NVIDIA AI introduced a guide on its official X account for connecting multiple DGX Spark units to run AI models locally
- The guide is reportedly authored by an account called MiaAI_lab
- The MiaAI_lab user example quoted by NVIDIA lists models and throughput figures for one to four DGX Spark units, but the full test conditions are not disclosed, so the numbers are neither NVIDIA lab benchmarks nor results verified by METAL LAB
NVIDIA shares guide on running local AI
On August 5, 2026, NVIDIA AI's official X account posted a message reading "The time for local AI is here," introducing a method for running AI models by connecting multiple DGX Spark units. The post described it as "a DGX Spark chaining guide written by @MiaAI_lab" and asked users to share photos of their own setups and the models they're running.
What has been confirmed
The NVIDIA AI post introduced local AI and DGX Spark chaining, while the quoted MiaAI_lab post listed model names, context lengths, and throughput figures for configurations from one to four units. These are user-reported examples from MiaAI_lab, not NVIDIA lab benchmarks with fully disclosed hardware, software, and measurement conditions, and METAL LAB has not reproduced them.
| Item | What the quoted post contains |
|---|---|
| Number of DGX Spark units | User examples for one-, two-, three-, and four-unit configurations |
| Target AI models | Model names listed by configuration |
| Performance/throughput | tok/s figures listed for some models |
| Source of the figures | User examples shared by MiaAI_lab |
| NVIDIA lab benchmark or METAL LAB reproduction | No; full measurement conditions are not disclosed |
| Announcement date | 2026-08-05 |
Promotional messaging amid the local AI trend
This post is interpreted as promotional in nature, emphasizing local AI execution amid the recent wave of open-source model releases. NVIDIA AI noted in the post, "So many great models have been released recently," referencing the recent trend of model launches, but did not specify which models it was referring to.
The two-, three-, and four-unit connection rules later confirmed in NVIDIA's official documentation are covered in how to connect two, three, and four DGX Spark units.
Remaining questions
The quoted user example does provide configurations, model names, and throughput figures for one to four units, but the incomplete measurement conditions prevent those figures from being generalized as expected performance. The MiaAI_lab numbers should be read as user experience, while NVIDIA’s later official documentation is the source for supported physical connection methods.





Comments